A Spirit of Thankfulness

Isn’t it funny that Sunday always starts out feeling so rushed but then, by the end of the day, it slows down and feels calm? At least it’s that way for me. Now that it’s calmed down, I thought I would start the week by listing some things for which I’m thankful.

I’m thankful for our church and especially our small groups – both the Bible Study Fellowship group and the orchestra group, who have encouraged our spiritual growth in endless ways. Could I imagine life without the saving grace of my faith? Not a chance.

I’m thankful to live in this country. Yes, we have problems, big ones. But because we have a legacy of liberty and freedom unprecedented in the annals of history, we’ll keep fighting to keep that freedom. I’m thankful for the soldiers as well as ordinary Americans who are fighting too.

I’m thankful for the abundance of resources in this country. Flick a switch, lights come on. Push a handle, I get clean potable water. How cool is that? Along the same lines, I’m thankful for modern conveniences. Computers, cars, electricity, telephones, the Internet … remember what life was like without these things?

I’m thankful for technology. Each year I feel like I am clinging to the technological frontier with my fingernails, and if I’m honest, I’ll admit that I’m actually just falling further behind. But what technology now makes possible is still remarkable: Our ability to do our work, maintain friendships, learn at a distance, share music and literature, and do a thousand other activities is being transformed on a daily basis. This process is not without its obvious downsides, but increasing mastery of science and technology is both a source of great human empowerment and pleasure; it is also the best hope we have of surmounting the challenges that are rushing at us in the decades ahead.

I’m thankful I’m feeling better. I’m thankful for a week’s worth of dinners in the freezer, clean laundry, and a clean house with which to start my week. I’m thankful for coffee, PJs, and fuzzy socks.

There is nearly always something I for which I can be thankful. The offering of thanksgiving is indeed a sweet incense going up to God throughout a busy day. I pray I will seek diligently for something to be glad and thankful about. I want to acquire in time the habit of being constantly grateful to God for all His blessings. I so desire that each new day shows me some new cause for joy and gratitude will spring to my mind and I will thank God sincerely. It is my prayer to develop a truly thankful spirit.

“A thankful and a contented spirit is a continual feast. We ought to be contented, and we shall be contented, if we are in the habit of seeing God in everything, and living upon Him day by day. Oh, for a spirit of true thankfulness!” Aston Oxenden.

Leave a Reply

