Just as I am…

The weather today was fabulous. I’m so ready for spring. I’ve also been trying to following the advice of everyone who cares – my husband, my boss, my doctor, etc. – and attempting to have more balance in my life between work, home, and relaxation. Because of that, I’m feeling much better. It’s so good to wake up on a Saturday morning and feel like I can do more than just stumble to the recliner and spend all day recovering. Even though I feel like today has been low key and relaxed, I was still able to accomplish quite a few things. I think the difference has been that I am not exhausted and am putting less pressure on myself to be perfect all the time.

An intern said something this week that spoke to my heart. She said she has been struggling to remember that anything worth doing is worth doing imperfectly. When she first said that, I reacted inside. I thought, “what in the world????” Of course everything we do must be perfect!” And then, as I listened to this excellent new counselor, I realized she was right and I needed to live what I taught. What kind of pressure have I been placing on myself to be perfect? I’m not perfect. Nothing I can do will ever be perfect. In fact, that is why Christ had to come and die for me. I would never be perfect. The only good thing I can claim is His righteousness and the only glory I have is bound in the cross. So why am I wasting energy trying to be something I can never be? I am accepted just as I am.

“I come broken to be mended. I come wounded to be healed. I come desperate to be rescued. I come empty to be filled. I come guilty to be pardoned, by the blood of Christ the Lamb and I’m welcomed with open arms, praise God just as I am.”

One thought on “Just as I am…

  1. Richard says:

    This, my friend, is a wonderful post… we are all imperfect and, although I’m not truly a perfectionist, I struggle with not being good enough. But God loves me… just as I am – as long as I cling to him for my strength each day. Thank you for this post. http://grooveshark.com/s/Just+As+I+Am/3ZDeqH?src=5

Leave a Reply

