Life as a Therapist and More…

Kottler said:
“Every day, every hour, people disclose to us the most disturbing and dysfunctional behaviors imaginable. After a while we lose the ability to be shocked by the weird, creepy, sick, hurtful things that people do to themselves and to others. People tell us secrets that have never been shared before – of abuse, trauma, suffering, addiction, compulsion, perversity, anger – and we are expected to hold all that and tell no one. People confide their worst instincts, fantasies, hallucinations, delusions, and obsessions, and we are required to listen and take it all in. Nothing we see on television or the media can touch the realities that we encounter in our offices. We see people at their absolute worst, when they are on the verge of cracking. We are subjected to onslaughts of rage, shame, indignation, seduction, and manipulation during times when people are most powerless and out of control. We talk to people about the forbidden, about that which is not said.

Forget about peering inside someone’s mind or heart: we see inside their souls.”

And he was absolutely correct. Yet, I love my job.

One of the major reasons I love my job is that I get to help people every day, either in a therapy session or in helping staff help others. Every day by the time I leave work, in some way – sometimes smaller or sometimes larger- I believe I have helped make a difference in someone’s life. I also love how I learn and grow from every client and staff member. How cool is it that I get to work in a field in which I can truly understand people and not waste time on surface level, fake presentations? This is one of the few careers in which, in helping others, I could understand human thoughts and behaviors better and then apply that understanding bit by bit to my own life.

“We register the impact of something that is the client’s as if we need to locate it first in ourselves before the client can take It back and experience it as their own…Compassion comes to life in the way that the therapist uses themselves and in as far as they are able to become a resonating chamber for the client’s emotions. Congruence and compassion open the way to the therapist’s primary instrument of healing: the personal vulnerability of his own trembling self (Wosket, 1999)”

I love what I do. Just saying… 😄

Leave a Reply

