Forgiveness and Joy

Our pastor, Hollie Miller, has been encouraging us to choose verses for the year. My husband has asked me several times if I’ve figured out my verse and my answer has been a continued no. But… This morning, our pastor’s sermon resonated with me. He preached from Psalm 32. His sermon had four points: to experience the joy of forgiveness, we need to confess honestly; pursue urgently; listen carefully; and rejoice loudly. I so needed to hear that Word.

I’ve been thinking about the sermon on and off today and pondering Psalm 32. The past few years have been somewhat difficult for me spiritually and I could so relate to David as he wrote, “When I kept silent, my bones grew old through my groaning all the day long. For day and night, Your hand was heavy upon me; my vitality was turned into the drought of summer. ” But Brother Hollie reminded me that I am to rely on the finished work of the cross. That there is no unpardonable sin except for unbelief in Christ. That I am a child of God through Jesus Christ. He said, “People say, ‘Hollie, you just don’t understand what I did.’ I tell them, ‘No. You don’t understand the concept of grace.” Thank you, God for Your grace!

Some thoughts that came to me as I pondered this Psalm:

1. Confession is not a game. My heart attitude must be the same as God’s.
2. Once I’ve repented and confessed, feelings of unforgiveness are from the accuser, better known as Satan, not ever from God. Anyone who continually reminds me of that sin is not heeding the voice of God.
3. I need to be responsive to the grace of God. I need to stay in His Word and in prayer no matter what I’ve done. I am covered with the righteousness of His Son and that is Who He sees when He looks on me. Christ died that I might be reconciled with God.
4. I can be used of God and can praise Him privately and publicly, no matter my sin. His grace covers all sin.
5. The more I see the depths of my sin, the more I love Him and am grateful for His great love for me and understand more what it was He did for me.

So thankful for my salvation, for my God Who loves me even though I am a sinner.

Well, I guess it’s no surprise now that my verses for the year are Psalm 32:1-2:

Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Blessed is the man to whom The Lord does not impute iniquity. And in whose spirit there is no deceit.

Isn’t God so good??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

