Before the Throne

It has been quite some time since I have written anything here. I have honestly been in a very difficult place for the past couple of years, both emotionally and spiritually. The following quote pretty much sums up where I have been and where I am heading: ”Have patience with all things, but chiefly have patience with yourself. Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections but instantly set about remedying them — every day begin the task anew.” –Saint Francis de Sales.

I have been posting random thoughts on Facebook over the past couple of years, but the other day, my husband remarked that I was now blogging there. Thinking about it made me realize he was right (don’t you hate it when that happens? LOL). So I’m back to this for now, though I plan to continue my randomness on Facebook. There must be a support group for that somewhere. 🙂

We finished studying Hebrews in our Bible Fellowship group this morning. My husband leads this group and I have enjoyed his teachings greatly. Then, in our worship service, we had a beautiful commitment service. How joyful it was to be with fellow believers and to worship God by committing ourselves and our resources to Him. The orchestra sang with the choir instead of playing our instruments and so I found myself standing in the choir, singing some old hymns with their deep theology and timeless truths. The first hymn we sang was “Before the Throne.”

As I saw the beginning words “Before the throne of God” on the monitor, Romans 14:10-12 came to my mind. ” for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. For it is written; As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to Me, and every tongue shall confess to God. so then each of us shall give an account of himself to God.” My legalistic background jumped up and hit me square between the eyes. I felt so condemned, so unworthy to be standing there in the choir, helping to lead worship. I know very well I am a sinner. I know every good thing I’ve ever tried to do is no more than filthy rags. I know I am not worthy of His love. How like a hypocrite I felt this morning! Who was I to be standing there singing? I felt once again like the tax collector in the back of the temple who could only ask for mercy. And I would be called before the very throne of God to answer for my sins, evil deeds, and lack of doing good.

And then we began to sing these words:

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea:
A great High Priest, whose name is Love,
Who ever lives and pleads for me.

My name is graven on His hands,
My name is written on His heart;
I know that while in heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair,
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look, and see Him there
Who made an end to all my sin.

Because the sinless Savior died,
My sinful soul is counted free;
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me

Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Praise the One,
Risen Son of God!

Behold Him there, the Risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!

One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Savior and my God
With Christ, my Savior and my God

While we were singing, I heard my husband’s voice reading Hebrews 4:14-16:
” Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with all of our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

An amazing fact of the Christian faith is that the infinite God became a finite human being. Although without sin, Jesus Christ as a man experienced the weaknesses, temptations, pain, and difficulties of human existence. Thus, we have a Savior who can “sympathize with our weaknesses” because He experienced it. He understands pain, because He felt it. I do not and will not face the throne of God on my own. I can approach boldly, knowing Christ paid my penalty and is my High Priest Who intercedes for me. He put an end to all my sin “not in part, but the whole” and my soul was purchased with His blood. I do not have to slip in the back and hope no one notices me. I can approach BOLDLY, knowing “He lives and pleads for me!”

One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Savior and my God!

3 thoughts on “Before the Throne

  1. Thank you for returning to this blog, Sandy. I have missed your posts. You are a great encouragement to many nameless, faceless people (like me). 🙂

    Our God does things so unlike the way we would do them. And his ways are glorious. Thank you for focusing our attention where it belongs.

  2. Sandy says:

    Thank you, RIch for the string trio version. How beautiful is that? 🙂

Leave a Reply

