Resting in His Righteousness

I used to own a coffee mug that was given to me as a gift when I turned 40. On it was painted “In our 20’s we thought we could change the world. In our 30’s we thought we could rule the world. In our 40’s we just wish we knew what in the world is going on.” And now that decade is over I’ve learned how true this is – especially in my spiritual walk.
I came to know Christ in my 20’s. To be perfect, strong, and capable – or at least perceived that way – was what I desired. But sometimes, God allows our lives to be turned upside down in order to teach us that the pursuit of perfectionism in our own power is, by definition, not relying on God. In effect, we forget we need Him. Learning to see my dependence on God means realizing I can accomplish nothing on my own. Learning to know that He is the only One capable of goodness and perfection is the first step towards realizing who I am in Him. He is the only One who can perfect us spiritually.
Paul said “And he said to me, My grace is sufficient for you: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest on me.” It is when I am conscious that I am feeble, and when I feel my need of aid, that the Redeemer manifests His power to uphold – when I fully lean on Him and recognize that without Him I would only be capable of doing the wrong things – His power dwells in me and through me. How wonderful to know that He is all the righteousness I will ever need.

2 thoughts on “Resting in His Righteousness

  1. Lynn says:

    Sandy, so true! I’m glad to see your thoughts on your blog again – I’ve fallen off the map on blogging.

  2. Sandy says:

    Hi Lynn,

    It’s feeling good to be back. I feel more like myself again and am getting things back in order. God is good but sometimes I need to be reminded of where I would be and who I would be without Him. I’ve been missing being online and visiting with my online Christian friends. Hope you’re enjoying the warmer weather as I am. 🙂

Leave a Reply

