Friendship quotes

A man who has friends must himself be friendly, But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.
Proverb 18:24

A loyal friend laughs at your jokes when they’re not so good, and sympathizes with your problems when they’re not so bad.
Arnold Glasgow 

Few delights can equal the mere prence of one whom we trust utterly – George MacDonald  

If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting Robin
unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain. – Emily Dickinson

And my very favorite one of all time:    “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another,
What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”
C.S. Lewis

6 thoughts on “Friendship quotes

  1. RichardD says:

    What! You too? I thought I was the only one.

  2. Sandy says:

    Richard,
    🙂 Hello my friend!

  3. Lynn says:

    “A loyal friend laughs at your jokes when they’re not so good”

    http://richgelina.blogspot.com/2008/07/blog-header-july-19-2008.html

    Is this an example of what you were talking about, Sandy?

    😉

  4. Sandy says:

    Why, absolutely, Lynn! 🙂

  5. RichardD says:

    Okay – was Lynn being a friend by laughing at my not-so-good jokes or was I being a friend by laughing at hers – or is this just a mutual friendship for the humor impaired?

    Seriously – It’s great to be able to have some fun together.

    Sandy – I read this out of Isaiah 33 this morning and I thought it might be an encouragement to you:

    He who walks righteously and speaks uprightly,
    who despises the gain of oppressions,
    who shakes his hands, lest they hold a bribe,
    who stops his ears from hearing of bloodshed
    and shuts his eyes from looking on evil,

    he will dwell on the heights;
    his place of defense will be the fortresses of rocks;
    his bread will be given him; his water will be sure.

    The evil in the world becomes overwhelming when I look at it and listen to it all the time. I’m sure it has affected some of my friends in the same way. I also love the description of shaking the had so it won’t hold a bribe.

    May God bless you greatly today.

  6. Sandy says:

    Thank you so much, Richard.

Leave a Reply

