More Random Quotes Which Speak to Me

Hold Thou Thy cross

                     before my closing eyes;

            Shine through the gloom

                     and point me to the skies;

            Heaven’s morning breaks,

                     and earth’s vain shadows flee;

            In life, in death, O Lord,

                     abide in me.    – Henry Francis  Lyte

 

            In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. – Martin Luther King Jr.

I have a great need for Christ; I have a great Christ for my need. – Spurgeon

I am not what I ought to be.  I am not what I wish to be.  I am not even what I hope to be.  But by the cross of Christ, I am not what I was. – John Newton

Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all. – Dale Carnegie

10 thoughts on “More Random Quotes Which Speak to Me

  1. madame says:

    Sandy,
    Thank you for those quotes.
    I absolutely love John Newton’s! That is so, so true…

    Dale Carnegie’s is one I needed to hear today. Keep on trying, even if there seems to be no hope.

    I’ll keep Spurgeon’s in mind too..

    In fact, all those quotes are worth remembering!

  2. Lynn says:

    It is good to read some quotes that lift our eyes to heaven, Sandy.

    Hi, Ruth!

  3. Sandy says:

    Yes, sometimes quotes just really say what I feel, if you know what I mean. 🙂

  4. Joy says:

    Hi Sandy,

    Ooh, what a good collection of quotes.

    Hope that things start getting better soon…you’re in my prayers.
    (trying not to be a silent friend… :D)

  5. Sandy says:

    Thanks for not being a silent friend, Joy. 🙂 Thanks also for the prayers.

  6. RichardD says:

    Sandy – thanks for the quotes. They’re all great. I especially need to remind myself of the Dale Carnegie one on a regular basis too.

  7. Brandi says:

    Awesome Quotes! I can readily identify with this particular one…
    “I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But by the cross of Christ, I am not what I was. – John Newton”

    Reminds me of a couple of my favorite songs…

    Bradon Heath’s – “I’m not who I was”

    Casting Crowns – “Somewhere in the Middle”

  8. Sandy says:

    ‘ve been listening a lot to Casting Crowns lately. My daughter in law hooked me up. 🙂

  9. Brandi says:

    Awesome daughter in law! Is this the new one from the recent wedding I have been reading in your blog about? Regardless, sounds like you are blessed!! Casting Crowns is my absolute favorite!! Their lyrics…wow… 🙂

Leave a Reply

