A Favorite Hymn

This is one of my favorite hymns of all time.

And can it be that I should gain
An int’rest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain?
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! how can it be
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?
Amazing love! how can it be
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?
‘Tis mystery all! The Immortal dies!
Who can explore His strange design?
In vain the firstborn seraph tries
To sound the depths of love Divine!
‘Tis mercy all! let earth adore,
Let angel minds inquire no more.
‘Tis mercy all! let earth adore,
Let angel minds inquire no more.
He left His Father’s throne above,
So free, so infinite His grace;
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free;
For, O my God, it found out me.
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free;
For, O my God, it found out me.

Long my imprisoned spirit lay
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused a quickening ray,
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him, is mine!
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness Divine,
Bold I approach the eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
Bold I approach the eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.

Charles Wesley

10 thoughts on “A Favorite Hymn

  1. RichardD says:

    Sandy – this is one of my all time favorites too, and it is my father’s absolute favorite hymn. I love the fact that Charles Wesley, in spite of his Arminianism, understood the sovereignty of God in salvation – at least in this hymn.

    Long my imprisoned spirit lay
    Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
    Thine eye diffused a quickening ray,
    I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
    My chains fell off, my heart was free,
    I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
    My chains fell off, my heart was free,
    I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

    I once heard a preacher talking about the fact that Charles Wesley held a strong Arminian position. He quoted this verse from “And Can It Be” and then said, “Oops!”

    That particular verse is my favorite hymn verse. Just outstanding.

  2. Lynn says:

    Sandy, nearly 6 years ago, over on the Gothard list which you are a part of, Metochoi posted some truths about the effects of grace in a believer’s life. At the time, I was seriously doubting God’s love for me. When I read this list of dozens of effects of God’s grace, with Scripture references, I was stricken that all those truths applied to me, as a believer, that I believed them and knew these reasons to be true effects of grace, and thinking about it made me feel emotionally strained to the point of exhaustion.

    Some time after that, I memorized this great hymn, of which I’ll just post one verse, and the refrain, but all the verses are wonderful:

    Great God of wonders all thy ways
    Are matchless Godlike and divine,
    But the fair glories of thy grace
    More Godlike and unrivaled shine,
    More Godlike and unrivaled shine!

    Who is a pardoning God like Thee?
    Or who has grace so rich and free?
    Or who has grace so rich and free?

  3. Sandy says:

    Richard,

    This hymn has always resonated in my soul. It truly is amazing love, isn’t it?

    Lynn,
    I am so grateful for the help you, Met, Corrie and others were in helping me understand over the past few years the real meaning of grace! I love the hymn you posted as well!

  4. RichardD says:

    I’d like to point out the very personal observation that the hymn Lynn mentioned says, “Who has grace so RICH and free.”

    Very good words.

  5. Sandy says:

    Richard,
    LOL!!!

  6. Lynn says:

    groan . . . 😉

  7. RichardD says:

    If you really want to groan, you need to watch my wife and me during church each Sunday. There are many hymns (and scripture verses) with the word “rich” in them. My wife and I always wink at each other when these come up. I play with the band and she sits with our son in one of the front pews. I’m sure folks notice it from time to time.

    I was quite proud of all the references in the Bible to “rich” until I got to college and one of my friends led me to Jame 5:1, which says, “Come now, you rich, weep and howl for your miseries that are coming upon you!”

    Yikes!!

  8. madame says:

    It Is Well With My Soul

    When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
    When sorrows like sea billows roll;
    Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    Refrain:
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, with my soul,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
    Let this blest assurance control,
    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

    My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
    My sin, not in part but the whole,
    Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
    Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

    And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
    The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
    The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
    Even so, it is well with my soul.

    Horatio Spafford

    I love this one and the story behind it makes me cry every time I read it.

  9. Sandy says:

    Ruth,
    I love this hymn and story behind it as well. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

  10. RichardD says:

    Madame – I found the most wonderful rendition of “It Is Well With My Soul.” Check it out here:

    http***richgelina.blogspot.com/2008/02/it-is-well-with-my-soul-4-him.html

    Stick in the :// in place of the asterisks.

Leave a Reply

